March 14th: Suzanne

It has been a very long time since I fasted; I did it with one cup of coffee, water and a small snack when I began to feel faint. I noticed more than usual the spread of food throughout my environment and the temptation everywhere to nibble. Some ideas which occurred to me through the day:
On Empathy: I found I could think more solidly about the injustice of the immigration system having stepped out of my own zone of comfort.
On Choice: not eating was my own choice but the struggle immigrants face have been thrust on them. I realized the degree to which believing I have control is what makes it possible for me to dream.
On Hope: I marvel at the way Roxroy has kept his positive attitude when so much is out of his control.
On Immigration tactics: what a waste of our resources to work so hard to push someone away instead of finding ways to include.
On Community: As I watched co-workers gather around food, I was jealous and felt outside; I wondered if similar feelings rise up in those caught in these laws and situations. I could see how such feelings could easily lead to anger rather than faith.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

