March 13th: Virginia

On the day I fasted, I spent some time thinking about hungry people in our country these days. I was only doing without for one day and then I only fasted till 9 at night (Ramadan style) when I sat down to eat some dinner. I was hesitant about participating in the fast for various reasons. What I mainly realized was that my energy level fell to a surprising extent. I think that fasting would have a much deeper significance if it were done with a group who could share thoughts and feelings during the day and afterwards. I never thought of it as a community activity but of course that is what it is in religious communities. So I learned something, and of course I thought about Roxroy’s family and of the people our group from First Presbyterian Church met during a week we spent just inside Mexico in a border town where we met people who had been sent back from the USA.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

